Oulu Nice Soccer
Blog

Blog 1

My Journey to a Professional Career

Cliquez ici pour lire ce blog en français

College soccer is demanding and it is truly a four years commitment. Conditioning, lifting, and practices never stop. When I finished my college career in November 2018, I felt like I needed a short break. I played for the University of Memphis and competed in the American Athletic Conference. We finished in the NCAA women’s soccer top 25 twice (2016 and 2018) and won the AAC Tournament my senior year (2018).

I took a whole month off after my last season. I was still going to the gym to do some cardio and lift weights, but I did not put my cleats on. I wanted to miss the game. I don’t think it was a negative thing; I just needed to take some time to rest my body and my mind after four intensive years.

I never thought I was good enough to sign a professional contract. I am not the type of player who stands out; I just do my job on the field. Deep down I did not want my soccer career to be over, but I was not sure if it would be possible.

I began my last college semester in January 2019. As a double major in communication studies and journalism, I knew it would be a demanding semester, but I thought I would be able to manage morning practices, classes and extra trainings altogether. The reality was I was not able to. In order to finish college on a high note, I decided to focus on school during the month on February.

I loved what I was doing in class and I had made up my mind about my future: after graduation I would go on and get a job. My plans had changed and I was excited about it. I did not have the time or the resources to put a highlights video together or pay for an agent. My twin sister, Marie, left Memphis to begin her professional career in Finland on March 15 and a month later her team Oulu Nice Soccer reached out to me and offered my a contract too. My plans had changed again! It felt so surreal and I knew I could not pass on this opportunity. I felt hungrier than ever and decided to play the game I love after graduation.

I have been in Finland for two weeks now and I am living my dream to the fullest. My blog posts will focus on lessons I have learned during my soccer career and I hope it will help others in their athletic journey.

MUCH MORE TO COME!

PS: Next blog about lessons I learned in College.

1 thought on “Blog 1”

  1. Hi Catherine
    Nice reading some of your blogs after quite a few years. What I really like is the underlying theme and your awareness of the importance of self growth .

    Proud to see you having that for your personal values

    Love to you and Marie

    Fergus

    Like

Leave a comment