American Athletic Conference Tournament Champions
Blog

Blog 2

Lessons I took away from College

Cliquez ici pour lire ce blog en français

College is a complex time. As a freshman, you are used to your old ways and feel comfortable with what you know. However, playing college sports challenges you in so many ways and your success depends on how well you can adjust to this fast pace lifestyle. During my four years at the University of Memphis, I learned so many valuable lessons. I will take them with me for the rest of my life, because they can apply to all aspects of life.

  1. Be on Time. Always.

Being on time is important because it showcases your professionalism. There is nothing worse than getting to practice late and have to watch your teammates run until exhaustion because you messed up. I will give my Tigers family a shout out here, and talk about the train situation at the U of M. The train tracks in Memphis splits the campus in half; the main campus is on one side of the tracks and the athletics facilities on the other side. Freshmen are required to stay in the dorms on the main campus, which means you have to leave for practice earlier in case there is a train. This train can make you late for practice because it can last anywhere between 30 seconds to 20 minutes. I can definitely say that the train situation in Memphis encouraged me to always be on time, and ON TIME MEANS FIVE MINUTES EARLY. Don’t be that person who is always late to meetings or to practices, because it will poorly reflect on you and your character.

  1. Effort requires no talent.

Growing up playing in clubs, I was always among the best players on my team. I was a captain and played major minutes every game. But when you get to college, all the girls on your team used to be the best players on their club team too. So, how can you set yourself apart? My work ethic kept me humble and my desire to always improve my craft turned me into a hard worker. My coaches at Memphis always valued effort and hard work. They taught me that a strong mentality and “hating to lose” could beat talent. It does not matter how talented you are. At this level, if you do not work hard and don’t wear your heart on your sleeve, you will not be as successful as you could be. Effort requires no talent, and if you are not willing to give your all in everything you do, you are just selling yourself short.

  1. Control what you can control.

There are so many events and factors at play in life, and you cannot control all of them at the same time. Dwelling on things you cannot control such as what other people may think of you is unhealthy. It won’t help you better yourself or your situation. In fact, you will just waste time and energy. All you can do is control your attitude, what type of teammate you are, your work ethic, how you treat others, etc. At the end of the day, you need to be proud of yourself and focus on the things that give you satisfaction and that make you happy. In college athletics, fighting for a starting position is hard because you are competing against extremely talented players. You cannot control the coaches’ decisions, but you can prove them you deserve to be a starter by working hard everyday at practice and working on your craft with a purpose. In other words, take charge of your own fate.

My college years were some of my best years, but they were also the most challenging ones. How well you learn from your mistakes and adapt to this unique lifestyle will make you, or it will break you. I thrived during my time in Memphis. Being on time (ALWAYS), being the hardest worker both on and off the field, and controlling only what I could control made me a successful student-athletes.

1 thought on “Blog 2”

Leave a comment